GSC Executive Board

Frederick Johnson

Arline Votruba

Francis Assenga

Ximena Martinez

GSC Space Location
Ron W. Burkle Building, Suite 101
1021 N. Dartmouth Avenue
Claremont, CA 91711

Get Involved in the GSC

We invite and encourage all graduate students to get involved with the Graduate Student Council. Whatever your interest, skills, or background might be, there is a place on the Council for you to explore your interests while networking and learning new things. You can participate regardless of your time commitments – involvement could entail simply coming to our meetings, or you may decide to become more active and remain involved for your entire graduate career at CGU! The best way to become involved is to attend our meetings! They provide students a platform to voice their feedback and ideas and gain exposure to the workings of CGU. Check our events section to see when the next one is.

GSC Transformation Strategy 

Over the 2021 academic school year, the current GSC Executive Board recognizes that the current conditions associated with social unrest and the health & safety concerns related to COVID19 have set in motion unprecedented circumstances. Given our world’s state, our student community must change by transforming itself to connect, engaged, and communicate with our community effectively. And to maintain and enhance our student experience, the current Executive Board has developed the GSC 2020-2021-GSC Transformation Strategy that includes the following focus areas:


Join a Project or Committee

Volunteer to be part of a committee or project with GSC. The GSC has five internal committees for student projects and has representatives on several faculty and administrative committees.

Become a Representative or Delegate

Department representatives and delegates serve to understand the graduate student body’s needs and convey those needs to the CGU administration and faculty. To nominate yourself or someone you know for an open position, email us at

Give Us Feedback

If you cannot attend our GSC General Meetings or Committee meetings, you can still get involved with the GSC by giving feedback and comments about particular issues that you think need to be addressed or ideas you would like to see developed. Email us at We encourage you to contact us and let us know if you have a question or think there is something additional the GSC could do to improve graduate student life and learning at CGU.